Ohio’s Child Restraint Law
ORC 4511.81

Children who are in either or both categories:
e less than 4 years of age
e less than 40 pounds

Primary Enforcement — Child Restraint Violation
Children must be in properly used child restraints, in
accordance with manufacturers’ instructions.
4511.81 (A) (1,2) if a child is both under 4 and under
40 lbs.

(A) (1) — if child is younger than 4

(A) (2) — if a child weighs less than 40 Ibs.
4511.81 (B) (1,2) — if a child is in a day care or
pre-school vehicle

Use (B) (1) for child younger than 4

Use (B) (2) for child weighing less than 40 Ibs.

Children less than 8 years of age, unless they
have reached 4' 9" in height

Secondary Enforcement - Booster Seat Violation
4511.81 (C) Children must be properly secured in
accordance with the manufacturers’ instructions in
booster seats or child restraints that meet federal
motor vehicle safety standards.

e Regulated daycare vehicles are exempted

e 6 month warning period commences 10/7/2009

e Enforcement commences 4/7/2010

Children who are 8 - 15 years of age
(or younger children who are at least 4’ 9" tall)

Secondary Enforcement — Seat Belt Violation
4511.81 (D) Children must be properly restrained in
accordance with manufacturers’ instructions in child
restraints, booster seats, or seat belts.

Regardless of front or back seat occupancy
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All of the above sections have the following
exceptions:
Taxicabs
Public Safety Vehicles
Vehicles not equipped with seat belts at the time
of manufacture
Chiropractor or physician affidavit of exemption
Life-threatening emergencies

All of the above sections require the driver to be
ticketed, not the child.

All of the above sections are MM on a first offense
with a minimum fine of $25 and a maximum fine of
$75. Second offenses are M4 which have fines to
$250 and jail time to 30 days.

If more than one child is not restrained at the time of
the stop, only one citation can be issued. Include all
applicable subsections.
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Ohio’s Occupant Restraint Laws

4513.263 Seat Belt Violation
Secondary Enforcement — MM
All drivers and front seat passengers must properly
wear all portions of available safety belts.
(B) (1) Driver not wearing
(B) (2) Passenger not wearing, but driver gets
ticket
(B) (3) Passenger not wearing and gets ticket
(B) (4) All seatbelts in taxicabs must work

4507.071 (E) — Probationary License Seat Belt
Violation
Secondary Enforcement — MM
- Total number of occupants of the vehicle
cannot exceed the total number of occupant
restraining devices originally installed in the
motor vehicle by its manufacturer
- Each occupant of the vehicle must wear all
available elements of a properly adjusted
occupant restraining device
+ Diriver gets ticket

4511.51 (E) —Children < 16 in truck beds

Primary Enforcement — MM

No driver shall permit any person under 16 years of
age to ride in the unenclosed or unroofed cargo
storage area of a truck, trailer or semi-trailer
traveling faster than 25 mph.

4511.51 (F) Passengers in truck cargo area
Primary Enforcement — MM
Passengers aged 16 and older cannot ride in the

cargo storage area of a truck, trailer, or semi-trailer
while the tailgate is unlatched. Maintenance/street
workers performing specialized highway or street
maintenance are exempted.
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