OHIO’S
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY

LAW HAS CHANGED

(Effective October 7, 2009)"

e Every child* under 8 years old must ride in a booster seat
or other appropriate child safety seat unless the child is
4’9” or taller.**

Follow the seat manufacturer’s instructions for weight limits and
proper use.

e Every child* from 8 to 15 years old who is not secured in a
car seat must be secured in the vehicle’s seat belt.

* Unless there is a life-threatening situation, the parent has an affidavit signed by a licensed
physician exempting the child from the law due to a physical impairment, or the vehicle is a
taxicab, a public safety vehicle, is regulated under Ohio Revised Code 5104.011 or was
manufactured without seat belts.

**“Child safety seat” includes infant seats, convertible seats, forward-facing seats, booster seats
or other federally approved safety devices.

* A six month warning period starts on 10/7/09. Full enforcement starts 4/7/10.

PROTECT YOUR CHILDREN AS THEY RIDE!

The back seat is the safest. Children under 13 years old should
ride in the back seat.

Ohio’s Child Passenger Safety Law is defined in Ohio Revised Code 4511.81.
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