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Dear Motor Vehicle Safety Advocate,

Thank you for taking the time to review the findings of the Ohio Department of Health’s
(ODH) motor vehicle opinion survey. This survey is an important first step in gauging the
knowledge and attitudes of our fellow citizens on policies aimed af reducing death and
disability associated with teen driving, driving under the influence of alcohol and crashes
involving passengers under the age of 8.

Crashes involving motor vehicles are a serious public health problem. Motor vehicle
crashes are the leading killer of US children, teens, and young adults (ages 5 to 34) and are
among the top ten causes of death for all ages. In 2011, motor vehicle crashes took the
lives of 1,117 Ohioans and resulted in more than 4,700 hospitalizations and 87,000
emergency department visits. In addition to the impact on victims’ families and friends,
crash deaths cost Ohioans $1.23 billion per year in medical and work loss costs, or $3.4
million every day.

Recognized by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as a “winnable
battle,” motor vehicle fraffic crash deaths in Ohio decreased significantly over the last
decade. While we have made great progress, we still have a long way to go. Injury and
violence prevention policies can save lives and reduce costs associated with the long-term
consequences of motor vehicle crashes. Over the past 20 years, such policies have saved
thousands of lives. For example, laws promoting increased seat belt use have resulted in a
significant reduction in motor vehicle crash fatalities. The evidence-based injury prevention
policies featured in this survey, such as adopting best practices for graduated driver
licensing provisions, can lead to significant reductions in crash fatalities and improve the
overall health and safety of our state.

| hope you take the tfime to review the information presented in this report. By working
together, we can make the roadways safer and ensure that all Ohioans are leading happy,
healthy and productive lives.

For more information about ODH activities related to injury prevention, including motor
vehicle safety, please contact the ODH Violence and Injury Prevention Program at
(614) 466-2144 or visit our web site at: www.healthy.ohio.gov/vipp/injury.

Sincerely,

Mot 2. 5 grte w>

Theodore E. Wymyslo, MD
Director
Ohio Department of Health


http://www.healthy.ohio.gov/vipp/injury.aspx

EXE CUTIVE SUMIMNIONY .o e 1

Chapter T: Teen Driver SAfely ... et 3
Graduated Driver Licensing Laws — 4
Nighttime Driving Restrictions — 5
Teen Driver Age — 8
Passenger Restrictions — 11
Practice Hours — 14
Primary Seat Belt Law for Teen Drivers — 14
Decals for Teen Drivers — 17
Parent/Guardian Training Classes — 18

Seatbelt Use — 19

Chapter 2: Ignition INTEMNOCK DEVICES. .....cniiiii e e 20

Chapter 3: Child Passenger SAfety . ... e, 22
Child Safety Seat Use — 23

Enforcement of Ohio’'s Booster Seat Law — 24

Chapter 4: Demographic INformation.........cooiiii e, 27
APPENIX 1: SUNVEY RESIDONSES. ..ttt e et eaes 31
AppPendiX 2: MethOAOIOGY .. .o e e 38
Appendix 3: Parent/Non-Parent RESPONSES......viviviiii i 39
APPENAIX 4: RETEIENCES. .. vt e e 41

Table of Contents




The Ohio Department of Health's Violence and Injury Prevention Program (VIPP) contfracted
with the Survey Research Lab (SRL) at Kent State University to assess Ohioan’s knowledge
and aftitudes on policies related to motor vehicle safety. The survey was in the field from
July 5, 2013 to July 23, 2013 and is divided into the following topic areas:

o Teen Driving
o Ignition Interlock Devices
« Child Passenger Safety

The purpose of the survey is to gauge the knowledge of current policies, facilitate
discussion amongst the public and to examine the adoption of these policies in Ohio.

Survey Findings

Teen Driving

Respondents indicated support for the following teen driving survey items:

= Law enforcement being able to stop teen drivers solely for violating night time
driving restrictions (56% support).

= Driving restrictions for 16 year-old drivers starting either at 9 PM (75.7% support) or
10PM (74.6% support), with the exception of driving to and from work and school.

= Driving restrictions for 17 year-old drivers starting either at 9 PM (59.2% support) or
10PM (68.6% support), with the exception of driving to and from work and school.

= Increasing the minimum learners’ permit age to 16 (75.5% support).

= Increasing the minimum licensing age to 16.5 (61% support).

= Prohibiting 16 year-old teen drivers from having other teens in the vehicle unless
accompanied by a parent/guardian (73.8% support)

= Restricting 17 year-old teen drivers to just one teen passenger unless
accompanied by a parent/guardian (74.5% support).

= Increasing supervised practice driving fime from the current 50 hours to 60 hours
(71% support).

= Allowing law enforcement to pull over teen drivers and ticketing them solely for
not wearing a seatbelt (74.2% support).

= Ufilization of a detachable, magnetic decal to assist law enforcement in
identifying a teen driver (71.9% support).

= Requiring parents to complete a 1-hour training course on teen driving laws (77.9%
support).

Executive Summary




Ignition Interlock Devices

Respondents indicated support for the following ignition interlock™ survey items:

= Mandatory use of ignition interlocks for first time offenders convicted of driving
under the influence of alcohol (DUI**) (79.1% support).

= Mandatory use of ignition interlocks for DUl offenders with two or more DUIs (95.6%
support).

Child Passenger Safety

= Respondents indicated support for allowing law enforcement offers to stop a
vehicle if they observe a child who is not properly restrained in a booster seat (81%
support).

Survey Demographics

Of the 773 respondents completing the survey, the majority—57.8 percent—were female.
For this study, 35.9 percent of respondents completing the survey were on a cellular phone.
The mean age of respondents was 55.43 years of age. The median income category was
$45,000 - $59,999, which captures the U.S. Census (2007 — 2011) median Ohio household
income of $48,071. Respondents appear to be well-educated with 22.2% report having
Bachelor Degrees and 16.2% report having graduate (MA, MS, MSc, MLS, MSW, or Ph.D.) or
professional degrees (law, dentistry, or medicine). The majority of respondents (72.5%)
report not having children under the age of 18 living in their homes.

Margin of Error

The margin of error is +/- 3.58 at the 95% confident interval.

*lgnition interlocks are devices that can be installed in vehicles to prevent someone from operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration
(BAC) above a specified level. The devices work by sampling the driver's breath before the vehicle can be started and periodically while it is
operating.

**Driving under the influence (DUI) is the crime of driving a motor vehicle with blood levels of alcohol in excess of a legal limit ("Blood Alcohol 2
Content", or "BAC").



Get the Facts...

- In Ohio, motor vehicle crashes kill more teens than any other
cause of death.!

= In 2012, 109 young Ohioans were killed and more than 14,900
were injured in motor vehicle crashes.?

- In one year alone, motor vehicle crash-related injuries and
deaths among Ohio teen drivers cost more than an estimated
$1.2 billion in direct medical care expenses or more than $109 for
every Ohio resident.3

Chapter 1: Teen Driver Safety




Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In Ohio and across the county, motor vehicle crashes kill more teens than any other cause
of death. Two factors in particular work against young drivers putting them at increased risk
of a crash. One is their inexperience behind the wheel, and the other is immaturity. Young
drivers tend to overestimate their own driving abilities and, at the same time, underestimate
the dangers on the road. Young beginners are more likely than older drivers to take risks
such as speeding and, because of their inexperience behind the wheel, they are a lot less
able to cope with hazardous driving situations.4

Graduated driver licensing (GDL) laws are designed to delay full licensure while allowing
teens to get their initial driving experience under low-risk conditions.> The three stages of a
GDL system include: a supervised learner's period, probationary license (after passing road
test) that limits driving in high-risk situations (such as driving at night and with other
passengers in the car) and a license with full privileges.

Ohio’s GDL at a Glance?

Stage Ohio GDL Provisions
1. Supervised Learner’s Period = Teen must be atleast 15 ', to receive alearner’s
(i.e. Learner’s Permit) permit.

= The permit holder must complete 50 hours of
supervised driving with at least 10 hours at night.

= The learner’s permit must be held for no less than six
months before a teen is allowed to complete the
skills test and obtain a probationary Ohio driver
license. The minimum age to obtain a probationary
Onhio driver license is 16.

2. Probationary Licensing Stage | Probationary driver license holders under the age of 17

= Not permitted to operate a motor vehicle with more
than one person who is not a family member in the
vehicle, unless accompanied by the license holder's
parent, guardian, or legal custodian.

= Prohibited from driving between midnight and é a.m.
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian with
the same exceptions as above. Secondary
enforcement.

Probationary driver license holders between 17 and 18
years of age
= Restricted from driving between the hours of 1 a.m.

and 5 a.m. unless the holder is accompanied by a
parent or guardian, with the following exceptions: an
emergency situation, driving to or from a school
activity, or driving to or from work. Secondary
enforcement.

3. License with Full Privileges No restrictions if license holder is 18 years or older.




GDL laws are effective at reducing crashes among novice drivers. Evaluations of
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) programs in the United States, Canada, and New
Zealand have consistently found that GDL reduces the crash risk among teen drivers. In
fact, studies show that most comprehensive GDL systems are associated with reductions of
38% and 40% in fatal and injury crashes, respectively, among teen drivers.”

While all states and the District of Columbia have a three-stage GDL system, components in
some states are stronger than others. According to the Insurance Institute on Highway
Safety (IIHS), the current best practices are a minimum probationary license age of 17 (New
Jersey), a minimum permit age of 16 (Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia,
Kentucky, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Rhode Island), 65 - 70
supervised practice hours (Pennsylvania [65] & Maine [70]) and, during the probationary
stage, a nighttime driving restriction starting at 8 p.m. (Idaho and in South Carolina during
daylight saving time) and a ban on all teen passengers (15 states and D.C.).8

In this chapter, Ohioans were asked their knowledge of current provisions in Ohio's GDL and
potential changes that could prevent crashes among Ohio’s youngest and most
inexperienced drivers. While parents and guardians of teens were twice as likely to have a
high knowledge of teen related driving laws compared to non-parents/guardians (OR=1.99,
p-value<0.01), a majority of Ohioan’s polled support policies that would bring the state
closer to current best practice (see Appendix 3 for a further analysis of responses to teen
driving policy questions based on parent/guardian status).

Nighttime Driving Restrictions

Fatal crash risk is higher at night for drivers of all ages, but especially for young drivers. Teen
drivers are at greater risk during this time because they are likely to have less practice
driving at night and the task of driving is more difficult in the dark.? The rate of nighttime
fatal crashes for 16 and 17 year-old drivers is 4 times greater at 23 crashes per 100 million
miles travelled, compared to a rate of 5.5 crashes per 100 million miles travelled for daytime
fatal crashes. Limits on night driving are associated with a 40-60 percent crash reduction

during restricted hours.10 DID YOU KNOW?

Currently, Ohio has two of the latest starting

times for nighttime driving curfew among alll = 59 percent of fatal crashes

states with such laws.!T Sixteen year-olds in involving Ohio teens in 2011
Ohio are prohi'bi’rgd from driving between occurred between the hours of
the hours of midnight and 6 a.m.; seventeen 12

year-olds cannot drive from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. 8 p.m.and 5 a.m.

Currently, nighttime driving restrictions for teen drivers in Ohio are a secondary offense,
meaning that law enforcement officers can only cite teen drivers for a violation of the law if
they have committed another citable traffic infraction. Laws with secondary enforcement
are less effective than primary laws, meaning that teens are less likely to obey the law and
more likely to be atrisk. A majority of those surveyed either did not know that nighttime
restrictions for teen drivers existed nor did they know a violation of the restriction is a
secondary offense (see Figure 1 and Figure 2). Regardless of their knowledge of the current
law, a majority of respondents (56 percent) support the primary enforcement of nighttime
driving restrictions for teen drivers (see Figure 3).



Figure 1: Less than half of respondents correctly reported that Ohio had nighttime driving
restrictions for teen drivers.

mYes

m No/Don't Know

Under current Ohio law, sixteen year-olds in Ohio are prohibited from driving between the
hours of midnight and 6 a.m.; seventeen year-olds cannot drive from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.

Figure 2: Only one quarter of Ohioans correctly indicated that a teen driver cannot be
pulled over and ticketed solely for violating nighttime driving restrictions.

m Yes/Don't Know

m No

Under current law, Ohio teens cannot be pulled over for violating nighttime driving
restrictions.



Figure 3: A majority of Ohioans support allowing law enforcement officers to stop teen
drivers for violating nighttime driving restrictions when no other traffic laws are broken.

Don't Know I 2.2%

0.0% 10.0% 20.0% 30.0% 40.0% 50.0%  60.0%

Although many states, including Ohio, do not begin nighttime teen driver restrictions until
midnight or 1 a.m., risk of a fatal crash at night among 16 and 17 year-old drivers is actually
much higher between the hours of 9 p.m. and midnight.’3 For this reason, six states begin
nighttime driving restrictions for teen drivers at or before 9 p.m. with an additional seven
states beginning at 10 pm.1" The IIHS estimates that shifting Ohio’s starting time for teen
driving restrictions to 10 p.m. could reduce the fatal crash rate among teen drivers by an
estimated five percent. Moving the starting time to 9 p.m. could reduce the fatal crash rate
by approximately seven percent, saving an estimated five to seven Ohio teens each year.4

Respondents were generally supportive of earlier nighttime driving restrictions for teen drivers
(see Figure 4). However, there was a sharp decrease in support between restrictions starting
at 9 pm for 16 year-old drivers (75.7 percent) and 17 year-old drivers (59.2 percent).

DID YOU KNOW?

— The Insurance Institute on Highway Safety (IIHS) estimates that shifting
Ohio’s starting time for teen driving restrictions to 10 p.m. could reduce
the fatal crash rate among teen drivers by an estimated five percent.
Moving the starting time to 9 p.m. could reduce the fatal crash rate by
approximately seven percent, saving an estimated 5 to 7 Ohio teens
each year.4



Figure 4: Ohioans generally support increasing nighttime driving restrictions for 16 and 17
year-olds with exceptions for driving to and from work or school.
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0.0%
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Teen Driver Age

Age is an important risk factor for motor vehicle crash-related injuries and fatalities among
teen drivers. The crashes of young beginners are more likely than those of older drivers to
involve single vehicle events, speeding, and driver error, reflecting their risk taking
tendencies and inexperience.'® Research indicates that age and experience behind the
wheel confribute to the risk of motor vehicle crashes.!s In fact, studies addressing age as it
relates to crash risk found that crash rates for novice 16 year-olds were higher than rates for
novice 17 year-olds.1é

Increasing the age at which teens are able to receive a learner’s permit or a probationary
license reduces their risk of a fatal crash.7181? Delaying permit and, subsequently,
probationary licensure reduces the risk of exposure at ages when teen drivers are most
vulnerable and allows for additional maturation to occur before putting teens behind the
wheel unsupervised.!?

Experts estimate that delaying the required age for a learner’s permit in Ohio by six months
(from age 15 2 to 16) could reduce the fatal crash rate among teen drivers by seven
percent. This effect could also be achieved by increasing the minimum age for a
probationary driver’s license. Increasing the age of unsupervised driving in Ohio (from age
16 to 16 '2 years) yields the same seven percent rate reduction as delaying the learner’s
permit age, saving an estimated seven Ohio teens each year.14



A majority of Ohioans surveyed knew that 15 'z is the age at which a learners’ permit can
be obtained in Ohio (see Figure ). An even larger proportion believes that the age when
a teen can obtain a learner’s permit should be increased to 16 years of age (see Figure 7).

Figure 6: Most Ohioans knew that 15 'z is the age at which a
teen obtain their learners' permit.

1.4%

15 m155 w16 m16.5 mDon't Know

Figure 7: Ohioans surveyed support making 16 the minimum age in which a teen driver can
obtain their learners' permit
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The current best practice among states is to have a minimum licensing age of 17. This
would require those to hold a learner’s permit unfil the age of 17 before they are able to
enter the probationary stage of the GDL.1" It is estimated that an increase in the licensing
age to 17 would decrease teen driver fatalities in Ohio by 13 percent, saving 14 Ohio teens
each year.* While participants responded favorably to increasing the minimum licensing
age to 16 2 (see Figure 8), they remained almost evenly split when it came to increasing
the minimum licensing age to 17 (see Figure 9).

Figure 8: A clear majority of Ohioans support raising the minimum licensing
age from 16 to 16 Y.

2.7%

m Support
B Oppose

m Don't Know

Figure 9: Ohioans were split when asked about raising the minimum
licensing age from 16 to 17.
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B Oppose

m Don't Know
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Passenqger Restrictions

Research shows that teen drivers are at higher risk of being involved in a motor vehicle
crash when there are other teens in the vehicle. This risk increases with each additional
passenger. For example, one study found that among 16 year-old drivers, the death rate
increased from 1.99 deaths per 10 million trips for drivers with no passengers to 2.76, 3.69,
and 5.61 for drivers with one, two, and three or more passengers, respectively. The rates for
17 year-old drivers were only slightly lower.20

Passengers can adversely impact teen drivers through a variety of mechanisms. Teen drivers
with passengers in the vehicle are more likely to be distracted and exhibit risk taking
behaviors than those driving alone.?! 22 |n addition, male teens are more likely to engage in
aggressive driving or perform illegal driving maneuvers when passengers are in the
vehicle.22 Current Ohio law prohibits a 16 year-old from driving with more than one person
who is not a family memiber in the vehicle, unless accompanied by the license holder's
parent, guardian, or legal custodian.

While there are passenger restrictions in place for teen drivers, further restrictions have the
potential to reduce traffic crash deaths. According to the IIHS, it is estimated that reducing
the number of teen passengers allowed by teen drivers (age 16) in Ohio from one
passenger to zero passengers could reduce the fatal crash rate among drivers by 16%,
saving 17 Ohio teens each year.’4 Motor vehicle-related injuries and fatalities could also be
prevented by expanding passenger restrictions beyond 16 year-old drivers; for example, by
limiting the number of teen passengers allowed by 17 year-old drivers.

Currently 15 states and the District of Columbia prohibit teen drivers from having any teen
passengers in the vehicle for at least the first 6 months of probationary licensure. ™

73 percent of respondents were aware of the current passenger restrictions for teens under
the age of 17 (see Figure 10). Ohioans indicated support for further passenger restrictions
on teen drivers with 73.8 percent supporting a ban on all teenage passengers for 16 year-
old drivers (see Figure 11) and 74.5 percent who support limiting 17 year-old drivers to one
teen passenger (see Figure 12).

DID YOU KNOW?

= In 2010, 59% of teen passenger deaths occurred in vehicles driven by
another teen.2?

11



Figure 10: A majority of Ohioans correctly reported that Ohio law includes restrictions on
who canride in a car with a driver under the age of 17.

mYes
m No

m Don't Know

Current Ohio law prohibits a 16 year-old from operating a motor vehicle with more than
one person who is not a family member in the vehicle, unless accompanied by the license
holder's parent, guardian, or legal custodian.

Figure 11: There is strong support in Ohio for prohibiting 16 year-old drivers from having teen
passengers in the vehicle unless accompanied by their parent or legal guardian.
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m Support
B Oppose

m Don't Know




Figure 12: Ohioans support prohibiting 17 year-old drivers from having no more than one
teen passenger in the vehicle unless accompanied by their parent or legal guardian.

1.2%

m Support
B Oppose

m Don't Know

Arminda’s Story

| was 14 years old and staying at my aunt’s house about 45 minutes from my home.
We were riding in the car to take home my cousin’s friend, who lived nearby. None of
us put on our seat belts because of the short ride. Ten minutes info our frip the van
began to swerve and then nothing...

| woke up on the ground covered in blood. Everyone was screaming. | fried to sit up
but it felf like someone was twisting knives in my abdomen. A paramedic was
kneeling next to me begging me to be still. She had my mother on the phone and |
needed to hear her voice. | was fransported to a local hospital by ambulance.

Once there, doctors and nurses scrambled around me. To this day, it is impossible to
fully recover this memory. | do remember my parents entering the room. All | could muster was an
apology for not wearing my seat belt. Everything was my fault. One simple decision brought me face-to-
face with death. | was transferred to the top tfrauma hospital in the area. | had a broken pelvis and
sacrum, third-degree lower abdomen lacerations, and countless other injuries. | had multiple surgeries in
the days following and spent three days in critical care. My first hospital stay was six weeks.

| cannoft recall the number of surgeries I've had or can predict how many more | will need. I've had a
bladder reconstruction, a permanent urostomy, and I'm facing a possible colostomy. | have steel pins in
my sacrum. As a result of the bladder reconstruction, | face multiple kidney infections every year, many
requiring extended hospital stays. | endured years of physical therapy to learn to walk again, first with a
walker and then a cane. | can now walk, but not as well as | once did.

| am 21 years old and the decision | made not to buckle my seat belt over seven years ago still
determines every daily decision | make. | would give anything to be able to change the decision |
made.

Story adapted from: Ohio Injury Prevention Partnership, Preventing Injuries in Ohio: A Resource for Policy Makers. 2013-2014
Edition. Columbus, OH; 2013. https://sites.google.com/site /ippaag/home/guide.
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Practice Hours

Most states require a minimum number of supervised hours behind the wheel before
progressing from the learner stage to a probationary license. Experts indicate that more
practice hours reduces the number of collision claims filed for novice drivers.'4 The current
best practice in the United States is between 65 and 70 supervised driving hours. A maijority
of respondents (71.1 percent) support increasing the number of supervised practice hours
for Ohio teens from the current 50 hours to 65 hours (see Figure 13).

Figure 13: Survey respondents were supportive of increasing supervised practice hours for
teen drivers from the current 50 hours to 65 hours.
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Primary Seat Belt Law for Teen Drivers

Seat belt laws are divided into two

?
categories: primary and secondary. DID YOU KNOW?

Primary seat belt laws allow law — In 2011, Ohio’s seat belt use rate
enforcement officers to ticket a driver or was 85%. However, among young
passenger for not wearing a seat belt, Ohioans (15-25), the seat belt use

without any other traffic offense taking
place. Secondary seat belt laws state
that law enforcement officers may issue a
ticket for not wearing a seat belt only when there is another citable tfraffic infraction. Ohio
has a secondary seat belt law while 38 states have primary seat belt laws for teen drivers
(See map on next page) .25

rate was only 77%.24
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38 States and the District of Columbia Have Primary Seat Belt Laws for Teen Drivers2s

Primary enforcement laws are associated with higher safety belt use among teens as
compared to states with secondary enforcement laws. A recent study of more than 3,000
high school students found that 12 percent were less likely to report often/always wearing a
seat belt as drivers and 15 percent less likely to report wearing one as a passenger in states
with a secondary seat belt law compared to states with a primary law.2¢

Teens in secondary enforcement states are also more likely to reduce seat belt use as they
progress through the licensing process. Research shows that in secondary enforcement
states, seat belt use declines 10 percentage points (69.7 to 59.6) when moving from a
learner’s permit to an unrestricted license. A similar decline is not observed in states with
primary laws.34 Evidence indicates that primary seat belt laws are effective at preventing
this decline because they allow for stricter enforcement, increased awareness of the law
and a perception of greater enforcement.?”

Due to higher seat belt use among teens, primary seat belt laws are also associated with
significant reductions in fatalities compared with secondary enforcement states. A review of
national fatality statistics found that teen crash death rates are higher in states with
secondary enforcement laws (25.7 per 100,000) compared with primary enforcement states
(21.2 per 100,000).28

15



Respondents were generally unaware that Ohio did not have a primary seat belt law for
teen drivers, with 71.5 percent reporting that Ohio did have a law or did not know (see
Figure 14). While there was a lack of awareness regarding a primary seat belt law for teens,
a clear majority of respondents (74.2 percent) support allowing law enforcement officers to
pull over and ticket teen drivers for not wearing their seatbelts (see Figure 15).

Figure 14: About one quarter of Ohioans correctly reported that a teen driver cannot pulled
over and ticketed solely for not wearing a seatbelt.

m Yes/Don't Know

m No

In Ohio, a teen driver cannot be pulled over and ticketed solely for not wearing a seatbelt.

Figure 15: Three-quarters of Ohioans support allowing law enforcement officers to pull over
and ticket teen drivers solely for not wearing a seatbelt.

1.7%
|

m Support
B Oppose

m Don't Know
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Kyleigh's Law — Decals for Teen Drivers

Starting May 1, 2010, New Jersey requires any driver under age

21 who holds a learner’s permit or probationary driver’s license to
display a $4 pair of detachable decals on the top left corner of |
the front and rear license plates of their vehicles. The purpose of \
the decal, known as Kyleigh's Law, is that it allows police officers
to identify teen drivers to improve enforcement of GDL laws. The
decals are only required to be displayed for teen drivers. Parents .
and older drivers can remove the decals from a license plate when the caris not opero’red
by a teen. A recent evaluation of the law conducted by the Children's Hospital of
Philadelphia’s Research Institute found, that in the first year post-law, New Jersey saw:

= a 14 percent increase in the GDL citation rate;
= a9 percent reduction in the police-reported crash rate; and
= an estimated 1,624 young probationary drivers for whom a crash was prevented.??

When explained the provisions and purpose of the law, more than 71 percent of Ohioans
indicated their support for a similar provision in Ohio (See Figure 16). Those who did not
support the idea were asked to provide the rationale for their opposition. Of those who
oppose detachable decals for Ohio drivers, most indicated concerns with profiling,
including police harassment and safety concerns as a result of being able to easily identify
young drivers. Other concerns raised included cost of the decals, implementation
difficulties, the general effectiveness of the law and issues relating to violations of personal
freedom.

Figure 16: Respondents were generally supportive of implementing
a teen driver decal law in Ohio.
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Parent/Guardian Training Class

Parents and guardians have influence over their teen's driving behavior. In fact, leading
experts believe parents/guardians play a key role in preventing teen car crashes and
deaths.30 A GDL law can be more effective if a parent or guardian understands the law
and helps to enforce its provisions. Given the importance of parents in enforcing GDL
requirements, survey respondents support (77.9 percent) a requirement that parents
complete a one hour training course on teen driving laws (see Figure 17).

Figure 17: Ohioans support requiring parents to complete a one hour training course on teen
driving laws before their teen is licensed?

Don't Know I 1.8%

Oppose - 20.3%

0.0% 20.0% 40.0% 60.0% 80.0% 100.0%
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Seatbelt Use

Ohioans were also surveyed regarding their attitudes on seat belt use. Overwhelmingly,
93.4 percent of respondents agreed that seat belts are effective at reducing injury and
death in the event of a car crash (see Figure 18).

Figure 18: Seatbelts prevent someone from being injured or dying in a car crash.

Do you...

m Agree
m Disagree

m Don't Know / Refused

93.8%

DID YOU KNOW?

In 2011 in Ohio...

= The seatbelt use rate of pickup truck occupants (75 percent) is
significantly lower than that of occupants of passenger cars (85
percent), minivans (88 percent), or SUVs (85 percent).24

= Female vehicle occupants continue to have a significant higher rate
of seat belt use (88 percent) than male occupants (81 percent).24

= Caucasian vehicle occupants have a significantly higher rate of seat
belt use (85 percent) than African-American occupants (75 percent).24



Get the Facts...

-~ In 2012, 463 Ohioans died in alcohol-related motor vehicle
crashes and more than 6,900 were injured.?

How an Ignition Interlock Device works

If the driver’s level remains too
high after a second breath test,
the next and all subsequent
lockout periods will be 30 minutes.

Driver must blow a deep
breath into the device
before starting the vehicle.

N

If device detects alcohol at
0.025% or greater, the
device prevents the car from
starting for 5 minutes.

Rolling retest feature: At periodic times during the operation of the vehicle,

the device will prompt another breath test. The driver has 6 minutesto ——
administer the test. If alcohol is detected the vehicle won't shut down, but

the homn will beep and the headlights will flash until the driver pulls over

and tumns off the car.

Source: PA DUI Association 'Grapl'iivc'lilusﬁaﬁ&n}Mbrgéine Ford

Chapter 2: Ignition Interlock Devices




Ignition interlocks are devices that can be installed in vehicles to prevent someone from
operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above a specified level. This
level is usually 0.02 to 0.04 grams per deciliter (g/dL); the minimum illegal BAC level is 0.08 g/
dL in every state. The devices work by sampling the driver's breath before the vehicle can
be started and periodically while it is operating.3!

Drivers with interlocks installed have fewer alcohol-related crashes than those who had
licenses suspended for an alcohol-impaired driving conviction (commonly referred to as a
DUIl), as 50 to 75 percent of convicted drunk drivers continue to drive on a suspended
license.323334 |gnition interlock devices are also cost effective. The public saves between $3
and $7 dollars for every $1 spent on ignition inferlock devices. The CDC recommends that
these devices be installed for all convicted DUl offenders.35

In 20 states and four California counties, all alcohol-impaired driving offenders, including first
time offenders, must install interlocks to resume driving. Another 19 states require interlocks
for those who receive more than one DUI. Ohio is one of only seven states that have no
mandatory ignition interlock requirements.3¢

Respondents favor mandatory use of ignition interlocks for both first fime DUI offenders and
for those with two or more DUIs. While almost 80 percent of Ohioans support mandatory
interlock use for first time offenders, support increases dramatically to 96 percent for the use
mandatory interlocks for those convicted of two or more DUIs (see Figure 19).

Figure 19: Ohioans are supportive of mandatory use of ignition interlocks for first time DUI
offenders and are overwhelmingly supportive of mandatory use for offenders with two or
more DUlIs.

Mandatory Use of Ignition Interlocks

120.0%
95.6%

100.0%

80.0%

60.0%

40.0%

20.0%
1.7% 0.3%

0.0%
Support Oppose Don't Know

m For First DUl  mTwo or More DUIs
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Get the Facts...

= From 2008 to 2010, motor vehicle crashes were the leading
cause of injury death for Ohio children ages 5 to ? and the
third-leading cause for ages 1 to 4.37

- From 2001 to 2010, 240 Ohioans under the age of 8 were
kiled as occupants in traffic crashes.38

= In 2012, more than 4,000 young passengers were injured in
motor vehicle crashes in Ohio.3?

= A five-year review of child fatalities related to motor vehicle
crashes in Ohio (2006-2010) determined that only 43 percent
of fatally-injured youth occupants were properly restrained.40

Chapter 3: Child Passenger Safety




Motor vehicle injuries are the leading cause of death among children in the United States.
But many of these deaths can be prevented. Child safety seats (car seats and booster
seats) are the most effective strategy for preventing injury and death to children involved in
car crashes. From 1975 to 2009, approximately 2,310 lives have been saved by the use of
child restraints. However, only 50 percent of children ages 4 to 7 are appropriately
restrained in child safety seats.4! Child restraints are also cost effective. Every $46 child
safety seat saves $330 in insurance and tax payments, including $160 in auto insurance
costs, $100 in health costs, and $70 in taxes.42

Child Safety Seat Use

Of the 414 respondents* who regularly drive with children under 4, a significant proportion
always or nearly always used a car seat (98.3 percent) (see Figure 20). Of those Ohioans
who never, seldom or sometimes used a car seat (1.7 percent), respondents cited reasons
relating to cost, failure to see the usefulness of the seat and a preference for holding the
child rather than using a car seat.

Figure 20: Ohioans reported high levels of child safety seat use
when driving children under the age of 4.

1.7%

E Always/Nearly Always

B Sometimes/Seldom/Never

*353 or 45.7 percent of the respondents reported that they do not drive with children under the age of four.
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Of the 366 respondents* who regularly drive with children between the ages of 4 and 8, a
significant proportion always or nearly always used a booster seat (92.6 percent) (see Figure
21). However, the number of Ohioans who always or nearly always use booster seats is
lower than the proportion reported by those who use car seats (see Figure 20). Of those
who never, seldom or sometimes used a booster seat (7.4 percent), respondents cited
reasons relating to space constraints, the child not being able to fit properly, the child is
over the weight/height limit, does not see the usefulness of the seat and installation issues.

Figure 21: A significant proportion of Ohioans reported using booster seats when driving with
children between the ages of 4 and 8.

m Always/Nearly Always

B Sometimes/Seldom/Never

Enforcement of Ohio’'s Booster Seat Law

In 2009, Ohio enacted a booster seat law that requires the use of belt-positioning booster
seats once a child outgrows their safety seat (usually at 4 years old and 40 pounds) until
they are 8 years old, unless they are at least 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) tall.

The passage of the law differed from the existing car seat law for children 4 and under in
that it is not a primary enforcement law. Primary enforcement laws, which allow police
officers to pull over and ticket solely for a child passenger safety violation, are effective at
increasing restraint use.#3 Ohio is only one of four states where proper booster seat use is
considered a secondary offense, which means that a police officer cannot stop and ficket
a driver for failing to have a child properly restrained.44 Lack of a primary provision is cited
as one of the top barriers to the enforcement of the booster seat law, as it creates
uncertainty among law enforcement.45

*407 or 52.7 percent of the respondents reported that they do not drive with children under the age of four or
did not respond to the question.
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In assessing Ohioan’s knowledge of the booster seat law, a sizable proportion (83.7 percent)
of respondents correctly answered that Ohio has a law requiring booster seats for young
children (see Figure 22). However, more respondents (43.5 percent) reported that the law is
primary compared to those who correctly reported that the law is secondary (42.4 percent)
(see Figure 23). In terms of changing Ohio’s booster seat law to primary enforcement, 81
percent of Ohioans support the change (see Figure 24).

Figure 22: Ohioans correctly reported that the state has a law requiring booster seats for
young children.

HYes

m No/Don't Know/No
Response

Figure 23: Ohio residents were split over whether Ohio law permits police officers to stop a
vehicle if they observe a child who is not properly restrained in a booster seat when no
other offense was observed.

50.0%
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14.1%

40.0% -
35.0% -
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Figure 24: Ohioans support permitting law enforcement officers to stop a vehicle if they
observe a child who is not properly restrained in a booster seat, as is required by law, when
no other offense was observed.

Don't Know / Refuse 2.0%

Oppose - 17.1%

0.0% 20.0%  40.0%  60.0%  80.0% 100.0%

Fines collected for non-compliance with Ohio's child safety seat laws are used to purchase
child safety seats for low-income families. Currently the minimum fine permitted by Ohio
law is $25 dollars.4¢ 42 percent of Ohioans surveyed believed that the minimum fine should
be $100 or greater and 77 percent of thought the minimum fine should be $50 or greater
(see Figure 25).

Figure 25: Respondents support drivers paying higher fines if they are
ticketed for violations of Ohio’s child passenger safety laws.

I‘ "
m $25-$49

m $50-$99
m $100+
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Of the 773 respondents completing the survey, the
majority—57.8—were female. For this study, 35.9% of
respondents completing the survey were on a cellular
phone. The mean age of respondents was 55.43 years of
age. The median income category was $45,000 - $59,999,
which captures the U.S. Census (2007 — 2011) median Ohio
household income of $48,071. Respondents appear to be
well-educated with 22.2% report having Bachelor Degrees

and 16.2% report having graduate (MA, MS, MSc, MLS, MSW,

or Ph.D.) or professional degrees (law, dentistry, or
medicine). The majority of respondents (72.5%) report not
having children under the age of 18 living in their homes.
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Demographics #1: Respondent Gender

Demographics #2: What is your age?

m18-34yrs m35-49 yrs m50-64 yrs mé5 orolder
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Demographics #3: Please stop me when | reach the category that best describes your

annual household income from all sources, before taxes, for the last year:

35.0%

30.0%

23.4%

25.0%

20.0%

15.0%

10.0%

5.0%

15.3%

15.7%

0.0%

45k

60k

75k

13.0% I

Under $30k  $30k - Under $45k - Under $60k - Under $75k or More

32.6%

Demographics #4: What is the highest level of education you have completed?

Answer

Some high school/junior high
Completed high school
Some community college
Some technical school
Completed community col-
lege

Completed technical school
Some University

Completed Bachelor s Degree
(Arts, Science, Engineering,
efc.

Completed Master s degree:
MA, MSc, MLS, MSW, etc.
Completed Doctoral Degree:
PhD, "Doctorate"

Professional Degree (Law,
Medicine, Dentistry)

Refused

Total

Frequency

35
178
20
18
42

35
146
171

98

18

773

Percent
4.5
23.0
2.6

2.3

5.4

4.5

18.9

22.1

12.7

23

1.2
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Demographics #5: How many children 18 years of age or younger currently live in your home?

Five or More

Four

Three

Two

One

None

0.0%

h 5.0%

N 1.8%

N 3.1%

L 9.0%
B 130%

— 72.5%

10.0% 20.0% 30.0% 40.0% 50.0% 60.0% 70.0% 80.0%

Demographics #6: Do you regularly have children between the ages of 14 and 18 in your care?

90.0%
80.0%
70.0%
60.0%
50.0%
40.0%
30.0%
20.0%
10.0%

0.0%

83.6%

16.4%

—

Yes

30



Question #1: Seatbelts prevent someone from being injured or dying in a car crash. Do you...

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Agree 601 78
Somewhat Agree 122 15.8
Somewhat Disagree 24 3.1
Strongly Disagree 15 1.9
Don't Know 9 1.2

Question #2: Do you think there are night-time driving restrictions in Ohio for teen drivers?

Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 346 44.8
No 189 24.5
Don't Know 238 30.7

Question #3: Under current state law, can a teen driver be pulled over and ticketed solely for violating night
time driving restrictions?

Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 352 45.6
No 174 22.5
Don't Know 246 31.9

Question #4: How strongly do you support allowing law enforcement officers to stop teen drivers for violating
night time driving restrictions when no other traffic laws are broken?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 274 35.4
Somewhat Support 159 20.6
Somewhat Oppose 113 14.6
Strongly Oppose 210 27.2
Don't Know 17 2.2

Appendix 1: Survey Responses




Question #5: How strongly do you oppose or support a driving restriction for 16 year olds that starts at 9 p.m.
and ends at 6 a.m. (with exceptions for driving to and from work or school)?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 426 55.1
Somewhat Support 159 20.6
Somewhat Oppose 85 11.0
Strongly Oppose 86 11.1
Don't Know 17 2.2

Question #6: How strongly do you oppose or support a driving restriction for 16 year olds that starts at 10 p.m.
and ends at 6 a.m. (with exceptions for driving to and from work or school)?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 392 50.8
Somewhat Support 184 23.8
Somewhat Oppose 85 11.0
Strongly Oppose 95 12.3
Don't Know 16 2.1

Question #7: How strongly do you oppose or support a driving restriction for 17 year olds that starts at 9 p.m.
and ends at 6 a.m. (with exceptions for driving to and from work or school)?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 261 33.9
Somewhat Support 195 25.3
Somewhat Oppose 156 20.2
Strongly Oppose 145 18.8
Don't Know 14 1.8

Question #8: How strongly do you oppose or support a driving restriction for 17 year olds that starts at 10 p.m.
and ends at 6 a.m. (with exceptions for driving to and from work or school)?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 318 41.2
Somewhat Support 211 27.4
Somewhat Oppose 101 13.1
Strongly Oppose 127 16.5
Don't Know 14 1.8
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Question #9: At what age can an Ohio teen obtain their learners' permit?

Answer Frequency Percent
15 years old 93 12.0

15 % years old 451 58.3

16 years old 163 21.1

16 2 years old 11 1.4
Don't Know 55 7.1

Question #10: How strongly do you support making 16 the minimum age in which a teen driver can obtain
their learners' permit?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 477 61.8
Somewhat Support 106 13.7
Somewhat Oppose 73 9.5
Strongly Oppose 91 11.8
Don't Know 25 3.2

Question #11: How strongly do you support or oppose raising the minimum licensing age from 16 to 16.5?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 269 43.6
Somewhat Support 121 17.4
Somewhat Oppose 117 154
Strongly Oppose 251 20.9
Don't Know 14 2.7

Question #12: How strongly do you support or oppose raising the minimum licensing age from 16 to 17?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 269 34.8
Somewhat Support 121 15.7
Somewhat Oppose 117 15.2
Strongly Oppose 251 32.5
Don't Know 14 1.8




Question #13: Are there restrictions in Ohio on who can ride in a car with a driver under the age of 17?

Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 564 73.0
No 77 10.0
Don't Know 132 17.0

Question#14: How strongly do you support or oppose prohibiting 16 year old drivers from having teen
passengers in the vehicle unless accompanied by their parent or legal guardian?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 465 60.3
Somewhat Support 104 13.5
Somewhat Oppose 80 10.4
Strongly Oppose 107 13.9
Don't Know 15 1.9

Question #15: How strongly do you support or oppose prohibiting 17 year old drivers from having no more than
one teen passenger in the vehicle unless accompanied by their parent or legal guardian?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 402 52.1
Somewhat Support 179 22.4
Somewhat Oppose 90 11.7
Strongly Oppose 98 12.7
Don't Know 9 1.2

Question #16: How strongly to do you support an increase in practice hours for teen drivers from the current 50
hours to 65 hours?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 409 52.9
Somewhat Support 140 18.1
Somewhat Oppose 107 13.8
Strongly Oppose 93 12.0
Don't Know 24 3.1

Question #17: Under current Ohio law, can a teen driver be pulled over and ticketed solely for not wearing a

seatbelt?
Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 490 63.4
No 220 28.5
Don’'t Know 63 8.1
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Question #18: How strongly would you support or oppose allowing law enforcement officers to pull over and

ticket teen drivers solely for not wearing a seatbelt?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 474 61.3
Somewhat Support 100 12.9
Somewhat Oppose 65 8.4
Strongly Oppose 121 15.7
Don't Know 13 1.7

Question #19: How strongly do you support or oppose a similar idea [detachable decals] in Ohio?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 393 51
Somewhat Support 161 20.9
Somewhat Oppose 54 7.0
Strongly Oppose 140 18.2
Don't Know 23 3.0

Question #20: How strongly do you support or oppose requiring parents to complete a one hour training
course on teen driving laws before their teen is licensed?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 430 55.6
Somewhat Support 172 22.3
Somewhat Oppose 56 7.2
Strongly Oppose 101 13.1
Don't Know 14 1.8

Question#21: How strongly do you support mandatory use of ignition interlocks for first ime DUI offenders?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 461 59.6
Somewhat Support 151 19.5
Somewhat Oppose 61 7.9
Strongly Oppose 87 11.3
Don't Know 13 1.7
Total 773
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Question #22: How strongly do you support or oppose mandatory use of ignition interlocks for offenders with
two or more DUIs?

Answer Frequency Percent
Strongly Support 685 88.7
Somewhat Support 53 6.9
Somewhat Oppose 11 1.4
Strongly Oppose 21 2.7
Don't Know 2 3

Question #23: When driving children under the age of 4, how often do you use a car seat?

Answer Frequency Percent
Never 2 3
Seldom 1 .
Sometimes 4 .5
Nearly Always 3 4
Always 404 52.3

| Don’'t Drive with Children 353 45.7
Under the Age of Four in My

Car

Don’'t Know/No Response 5 .6

Question #24: When driving with children between the ages of 4 and 8 in your vehicle, how often do you use
booster seats?

Answer Frequency Percent
Never 10 1.3
Seldom 7 .9
Sometimes 10 1.3
Nearly Always 13 1.7
Always 326 42.2

| Don't Drive with Children 401 51.9
Between the Ages of 4 and 8

Don't Know/No Response 6 8

Question #25: Does Ohio have a law requiring booster seats for young children?

Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 647 83.7

No 40 5.2
Don't Know/No Response 86 11.1
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Question #26: Do you think Ohio law enforcement officers can stop a vehicle if they observe a child who is not

properly restrained in a booster seat, as is required by law, when no other offense was observed?

Answer Frequency Percent
Yes 336 43.5
No 328 42.4
Don't Know/No Response 109 14.1

Question#27: How strongly would you support or oppose permitting law enforcement officers to stop a vehicle
if they observe a child who is not properly restrained in a booster seat, as is required by law, when no other

offense was observed.

Answer Frequency Percent

Strongly Support 494 64.0

Somewhat Support 131 17.0

Somewhat Oppose 63 8.2

Strongly Oppose 69 8.9

Don't Know 15 1.9
Notes:

= Percent totals may exceed 100 percent due to rounding.

= Frequency totals may not equal 773, as refusals were not included in the tables.

= For a complete set of descriptive tables, please email your request to the Ohio
Department of Health’s Violence and Injury Prevention Program at
HealthyO@odh.ohio.gov.
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A telephone survey approach was utilized to collect data for the study. The Kent State
University Survey Research Lab (SRL) was confracted by the Ohio Department of Health
(ODH) to obtain 750 completed interviews. The data collection instrument was drafted and
refined with input from ODH. The final draft of the survey was approximately 12 minutes
long depending upon a respondent’s answers and questionnaire skip patterns. Two senior
interviewers at the SRL cognitively tested the survey instrument with 10 individuals. Testing
revealed no issues that needed to be addressed. The final version of the survey instrument
consisted of approximately 42 items, formatted with an appropriate array of yes/no,
categorical (including attitudinal scales), text, and “choose all” response options
(interviewer reads all responses options and records yes responses for all items selected). A
test version of the survey was created by the KSU Principal Investigator, Dr. Gregory Gibson,
utilizing mock interviews to ensure data were being collected properly in an SPSS file.

The sampling approach was a dual frame (landline and cellular) random digit dial (RDD)
telephone sample constructed to meet the specifications required by ODH. The RDD
phone numbers are randomly selected by WINCATI Supervisor software which manages alll
aspects of respondent selection and call dispositions (i.e., completed survey, refusal, break-
off, etc.). With this software, SRL interviewers are able to establish and fulfill callback times
convenient for respondents. Each question and response option was reviewed and
discussed. The survey was placed in the field on July 5, 2013 with telephone interviewing
occurring during day and evening hours, ranging between 1PM to 9PM on Monday
through Friday, 10AM to 5PM on Saturdays, and 2PM to 9PM on Sundays. Spanish speaking
respondents were interviewed by bilingual interviewers. During the data collection effort,
all interviewers were periodically monitored to assure standardization and quality
interviewing practices. Data were downloaded and checked daily to ensure proper data
collection.

Data collection finished on July 23, 2013. Upon completion of the data collection effort,
the data file was annotated (labeled and question values added) and frequencies for all
survey items were run using SPSS. A copy of these frequencies was prepared in a Microsoft
Word file and sent to ODH for their review. Based upon ODH input, a summary was
prepared by Dr. Gibson along with a “Driving Policy” document consisting of frequencies,
mean scores, and percentages for items selected by ODH.

Appendix 2: Methodology




Summary Data

Demographics Parents/Guardians Non-Parents/Guardians
Age 49.2 56.7

Gender (Female) 61% 57%

Education Level (At least 42% 37%

Bachelors)

Income (2 $45,000) 69% 48%

Number of Children in Home | 1.48 0.3

Teen Driving

Attitude Regarding Teen Driving Policies | Parents/Guardians Non- Parents/
(n=127) Guardians (n= 646)

Attitude Support (%) Support (%)

How strongly do you oppose or support | 94 (74) 491 (78.1)

a driving restriction for 16 year-olds that
starts at 9 p.m. and ends at 6 a.m. (with
exceptions for driving to and from work
or school)?

How about starting the restriction for 16 96 (75.6) 629 (76.3)
year-olds at 10 p.m. with the same
exceptions for driving to and from work
or school?

How strongly do you oppose or support | 76 (60.3) 380 (60.2)
a driving restriction for 17 year olds that
starts at 9 p.m. and ends at 6 a.m. (with
exceptions for driving to and from work
or school)?

How about starting the restriction for 17 89 (70.1) 440 (69.8)
year-olds at 10 p.m. with the same
exceptions for driving to and from work
or school?

How strongly do you support or oppose | 70 (56.5) 400 (63.9)
raising the minimum licensing age from
16 to 16.5?

How strongly do you support or oppose | 52 (41.3) 338 (53.5)
raising the minimum licensing age from
16 to 177

Appendix 3: Parent/Nonparent Responses




Attitude and Regarding Teen Driving
Policies

Parents/Guardians (n=127)

Non- Parents/
Guardians (n= 646)

Attitude

Support (%)

Support (%)

How strongly do you support or
oppose prohibiting 16 year-old
drivers from having teen passengers
in the vehicle unless accompanied
by their parent or legal guardian?

78 (62.9)

491 (77.7)

How strongly do you support or
oppose prohibiting 17 year-old
drivers from having no more than
one teen passenger in the vehicle
unless accompanied by their parent
or legal guardian?

84 (66.7)

491 (77.1)

How strongly to do you support an
increase in practice hours for teen
drivers from the current 50 hours to 65
hours?

94 (75.2)

455 (72.9)

How strongly would you support or
oppose allowing law enforcement
officers to pull over and ticket teen
drivers solely for not wearing a
seatbeli?

100 (82)

474 (74.3)

How strongly do you support or
oppose a similar idea [detachable
decals] in Ohio?

89 (71.2)

465 (74.6)

How strongly do you support or
oppose requiring parents to
complete a one hour training course
on teen driving laws before their teen
is licensed?

97 (76.4)

505 (78.2)

Child Passenger Safety

Attitude and Regarding Child
Passenger Safety Policies

Parents/Guardians (n=127)

Non- Parents/
Guardians (n= 646)

Attitude

Support (%)

Support (%)

How strongly would you support or
oppose permitting law enforcement
officers to stop a vehicle if they
observe a child who is not properly
restrained in a booster seat, as is
required by law, when no other
offense was observed.

105 (82.7)

520 (80.5)
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