
Ohio’s Child Restraint Law 
ORC 4511.81 

 
Children who are in either or both categories: 

• less than 4 years of age 
• less than 40 pounds 

Primary Enforcement – Child Restraint Violation 
Children must be in properly used child restraints, in 
accordance with manufacturers’ instructions. 
4511.81 (A) (1,2) if a child is both under 4 and under 
40 lbs. 

(A) (1) – if child is younger than 4 
(A) (2) – if a child weighs less than 40 lbs. 

4511.81 (B) (1,2) – if a child is in a day care or  
pre-school vehicle 

Use (B) (1) for child younger than 4 
Use (B) (2) for child weighing less than 40 lbs. 

 
Children less than 8 years of age, unless they 

have reached 4′ 9″ in height 

Secondary Enforcement  - Booster Seat Violation 
4511.81 (C) Children must be properly secured in 
accordance with the manufacturers’ instructions in 
booster seats or child restraints that meet federal 
motor vehicle safety standards. 

• Regulated daycare vehicles are exempted 
• 6 month warning period commences 10/7/2009 
• Enforcement commences 4/7/2010 

 
Children who are 8 - 15 years of age  

(or younger children who are at least 4′ 9″ tall) 

Secondary Enforcement – Seat Belt Violation 
4511.81 (D) Children must be properly restrained in 
accordance with manufacturers’ instructions in child 
restraints, booster seats, or seat belts. 

Regardless of front or back seat occupancy 
 
 

All of the above sections have the following 
exceptions: 

Taxicabs 
Public Safety Vehicles 
Vehicles not equipped with seat belts at the time 

of manufacture 
Chiropractor or physician affidavit of exemption 
Life-threatening emergencies 

 
All of the above sections require the driver to be 
ticketed, not the child.  
 
All of the above sections are MM on a first offense 
with a minimum fine of $25 and a maximum fine of 
$75. Second offenses are M4 which have fines to 
$250 and jail time to 30 days. 
 
If more than one child is not restrained at the time of 
the stop, only one citation can be issued. Include all 
applicable subsections.  
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Ohio’s Occupant Restraint Laws 

 
4513.263 Seat Belt Violation 
Secondary Enforcement – MM 
All drivers and front seat passengers must properly 
wear all portions of available safety belts. 

(B) (1) Driver not wearing 
(B) (2) Passenger not wearing, but driver gets 

ticket 
(B) (3) Passenger not wearing and gets ticket 
(B) (4) All seatbelts in taxicabs must work 

 
4507.071 (E) – Probationary License Seat Belt 
Violation
 Secondary Enforcement – MM 

• Total number of occupants of the vehicle 
cannot exceed the total number of occupant 
restraining devices originally installed in the 
motor vehicle by its manufacturer 

• Each occupant of the vehicle must wear all 
available elements of a properly adjusted 
occupant restraining device 

• Driver gets ticket 
 
4511.51 (E) –Children < 16 in truck beds
Primary Enforcement – MM 
No driver shall permit any person under 16 years of 
age to ride in the unenclosed or unroofed cargo 
storage area of a truck, trailer or semi-trailer 
traveling faster than 25 mph. 

4511.51 (F) Passengers in truck cargo area
Primary Enforcement – MM 
Passengers aged 16 and older cannot ride in the 
cargo storage area of a truck, trailer, or semi-trailer 
while the tailgate is unlatched.  Maintenance/street 
workers performing specialized highway or street 
maintenance are exempted. 
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